How To Securely Erase Your iPhone or iPad

Do you have an iPhone or iPad that you’d like to give away or sell? Before you get rid of it, you can easily get rid of all of your personal data and applications. The following procedure is irreversible so make sure that you have all of your data off of your device before you erase it. Here’s how to erase your iOS device:

  • Wake up or turn on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on Settings
  • Tap on General
  • Scroll to the bottom and tap on Reset
  • Tap on Erase All Content and Settings

If you have a the Passcode feature enabled, you will need to enter your Passcode.

If you have Restrictions enabled, you will need to enter your Restrictions Passcode.

If you have have the Find My iPhone feature enabled, you will be prompted to enter your AppleID password to disable this feature.

You’ll be notified that this process will delete all media and data and reset all settings. In other words, the device will look just as it did when it was turned on the very first time. If you’re sure you want to erase it completely then tap on Erase iPhone.

Leave a Reply