Add, Remove or Rearrange Items On Your Mac’s Dock

Would you like to add frequently used applications or documents to your Dock? Would you like to remove rarely used items from the Dock? If so, below are instructions on how to do this. The Dock is the row of icons that’s typically located across the bottom of the screen, though it can be moved. Apple populates the Dock with items that they think, or want, you to use, but you can customize it to suit your own needs. You can add applications, documents or folders to the dock.  Read More

Configure Your Mac To Empty Trash After 30 Days

Would you like your Mac’s Trash to automatically delete files after they’ve been in the Trash for 30 days? If so, Apple recently added this feature to macOS Sierra (aka OS X 10.12). Here are instructions for enabling this feature.

  • Click on the Finder icon on the Dock
  • Click on the Finder menu and select Preferences
  • Click the Advanced button
  • Check the box labeled “Remove items from the Trash after 30 days”
  • Click the red dot to close the Finder Preferences window.

Empty Trash After 30 Days

Personally, I’m pleased that Apple has finally added this feature. It seems that some people either don’t know that they need to empty the trash or they forget to do so. Thus, it’s possible for megabytes or gigabytes of files to accumulate in the trash. This is basically just wasting storage space on the Mac. I also like how Apple chose to implement this feature since it let’s people have a 30 day grace period before files are removed. It might also be helpful to be reminded that Time Machine does not backup the contents of your Trash so only put files into the Trash that you truly intend to permanently delete. I hope you enable this feature and find it useful.

Configure Your iPhone To Delete Text Messages After 1 Year

To prevent your iPhone from accumulating gigabytes of text messages, I recommend that you configure it to delete messages after 1 year. Text messages are typically quite small so they won’t consume much space, but the photos and videos that are attached can gobble up space. If you’d like to save some of these attachments then please read this older Tech Tip about saving photos and videos from text messages. Read More

Securely Erase Your Mac’s Solid State Hard Drive

Do you want to either sell or retire a Mac that has a solid state hard drive (aka Flash Storage)? If so, it is prudent to securely erase the hard drive beforehand. Here are instructions on how to do this. This procedure will make all of your personal data inaccessible. During this process we will be enabling FileVault, which encrypts everything on your Mac’s hard drive. Then we will reformat the hard drive which prevents anybody from accessing anything that was stored on the hard drive.

Read More

Completely Erase Your iPhone Or Pad

Do you have an older iPhone or iPad that you’ve retired or that you want to donate, give away or sell? If so, you likely want to remove all of your stuff from it. Apple has made it easy to do this, simply follow the instructions below. Just to be clear, this process will restore your device to how it was configured when you initially took it out of its box. All of your data and apps will be removed. The iPhone or iPad’s operating system, called iOS, and the core apps that Apple installs will remain on the device. The version of iOS will not be reverted to an earlier version. Instead, the version of iOS that you have installed will remain intact. Read More

Setup An Out Of Office Message In Gmail

If you have a Gmail account or a G Suite (formerly called Google Apps) email account, then you ought to know how to setup an out-of-office message. This feature is sometimes also called an auto-reply. Google calls it a Vacation Responder. Regardless of what you call it, here is how you can configure it.

  • Open a web browser and login to your Gmail account
  • Click the gear icon in the upper right corner and select Settings
  • Click on the General tab.
  • Locate the Vacation Responder section and click on the button to turn it on.
  • Type in an appropriate subject, such as Auto-Response as well as corresponding message text.
  • Select dates for the start and end dates of the auto-responder in the First Day and Last Day fields.
  • Click the Save Changes button.

For more detailed instructions and information about other related options read this LifeWire article.

 

Using The iPhone’s Do Not Disturb Feature

Turn on the iPhone’s Do Not Disturb feature to completely silence your iPhone (or iPad). This feature can be very handy if you sleep with your iPhone or iPad close to your bed. I typically have my iPhone’s ringer set to Silent mode, but if I’m in a meeting and I don’t want my phone to buzz or ding at all then I will enable Do Not Disturb. Read More