Configure Your iPhone To Delete Text Messages After 1 Year

To prevent your iPhone from accumulating gigabytes of text messages, I recommend that you configure it to delete messages after 1 year. Text messages are typically quite small so they won’t consume much space, but the photos and videos that are attached can gobble up space. If you’d like to save some of these attachments then please read this older Tech Tip about saving photos and videos from text messages.

Here are instructions on configuring your iPhone to delete messages

  • Wake up or turn on your iPhone
  • Tap on Settings
  • Scroll to and tap on Messages
  • Scroll to and tap on Keep Messages.
  • Most likely you’ll see that it’s set to Apple’s default of Forever. Change it to 1 Year, or, optionally 30 Days, if you prefer.

Leave a Reply